A RR T'S   A RR CHIVES






Copyright 2001-2007 Arthur John Huneke
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

THE   LONG   ISLAND   RAIL   ROAD   COMPANY

EAST   WILLISTON   STATION

GLEN   COVE   BRANCH



THE JUNE 17, 1877 AND JUNE 19, 1880 PUBLIC TIME TABLES DO NOT YET LIST THE STATION.   THE 1877 INDICATES THAT THE 5:55 A.M. TRAIN OUT OF LOCUST VALLEY WOULD STOP FOR MILK AND PASSENGERS AT GREENVALE AND   WILLIS .

THE SEPTEMBER 22, 1879 EMPLOYE TIME TABLE AND THE 1880 PUBLIC HAVE THREE EASTWARD AND THREE WESTWARD TRAINS STOPPING ON SIGNAL.   THE JULY 4, 1880 EMPLOYE TIME TABLE HAS FOUR EASTWARD TRAINS STOPPING ON SIGNAL.

THE 1884 BOOK "LONG ISLAND OF TODAY" REFERS TO   WILLISTON
AND STATES THAT "BRICK MAKING IS CARRIED ON EXTENSIVELY HERE."

THE APRIL 13, 1885 EMPLOYE TIME TABLE SHOWS   WILLIS'S

EAST WILLISTON   IS LISTED IN THE OCTOBER 2, 1887 PUBLIC TABLE.

IN HIS VOLUME SIX SEYFRIED SAYS THAT THE BRICK STATION WAS PROBABLY BUILT IN 1880.

BOB EMERY'S RESEARCH GIVES 1888.





FROM "LONG ISLAND TO-DAY" BY FREDERICK RUTHER   -   1909.
AT THE WEST   (GEOGRAPHICALLY   SOUTH)   END OF THE STATION WAS
A FRAME FREIGHT HOUSE WITH A HIGH PLATFORM.   THE TWO STORY
BRICK STATION HAS A ONE STORY FRAME ADDITION ON THE WEST END.


FOUR PHOTOGRAPHS TAKEN FEBRUARY 20, 1939








OCTOBER 27, 1946


SEPTEMBER 29, 1952 PHOTO BY WETTEREAU & VIKEN.


TWO CIRCA 1960 PHOTOGRAPHS SHOW CONSIDERABLE SAGGING OF PLATFORM CANOPY.




JUNE 18, 1961 PHOTO BY BILL RUGEN - ADDITION AND CANOPY SAG ARE STILL THERE.


JANUARY 1966 - BY CHRISTMAS 1965 THE ADDITION HAD BEEN REMOVED,
THE CANOPY REPAIRED AND THE STATION PAINTED.




MARCH   1972


DECEMBER 9, 1982 - HIGH PLATFORMS


DECEMBER 9, 1982 - SAME PHOTO


DECEMBER 9, 1982




EAST  WILLISTON'S  UNIQUE  AND  HISTORIC  PASSENGER
DEPOT  WAS  DEMOLISHED   DECEMBER   11,   2004