ARRT'S     ARRCHIVES






Copyright © 2001-2008   Arthur   John   Huneke

ALL   RIGHTS   RESERVED




THE   FLUSHING  &  WOODSIDE   RAIL   ROAD   AND   THEIR   GRINNELL   STATION
INCORPORATED   FEBRUARY   24,   1864.


THE FLUSHING & WOODSIDE RAILROAD COMPANY WAS INCORPORATED
FEBRUARY 24, 1864 TO BUILD FROM A CONNECTION WITH THE LONG ISLAND
RAIL ROAD AT WOODSIDE TO FLUSHING,   WITH A BRANCH TO WHITESTONE.
IT BECAME PART OF THE FLUSHING & NORTH SIDE RAIL ROAD.

THE FLUSHING & NORTH SIDE RAIL ROAD WAS INCORPORATED APRIL 3, 1868.

ON JUNE 19, 1874   THE FLUSHING, NORTH SHORE & CENTRAL RAILROAD COMPANY
WAS FORMED BY THE CONSOLODATION OF THE FLUSHING & NORTH SIDE RAIL ROAD,
THE CENTRAL RAIL ROAD COMPANY OF LONG ISLAND,   THE CENTRAL RAILROAD
EXTENSION COMPANY,   THE WHITESTONE & WESTCHESTER RAILROAD COMPANY,
THE NORTH SHORE RAILROAD CO.,   THE NORTH SHORE & PORT WASHINGTON
RAILROAD CO.   AND THE ROSLYN & HUNTINGTON RAILROAD COMPANY.



THIS   PHENOMINAL   MAP   WAS   UNEARTHED   BY   AND   IS   PRESENTED   HERE   COURTESY   OF
HARRY   NEWMAN,   THE   OLD   PRINT   SHOP,   150   LEXINGTON   AVENUE,   NEW   YORK   NEW   YORK

THANKS   HARRY!







PART OF THE FORMER FLUSHING & WOODSIDE RAILROAD BECAME THE WOODSIDE BRANCH.


THE ONLY STATION ON THE FLUSHING & WOODSIDE WAS GRINNELL, POSSIBLY LOCATED AT JUNCTION AVENUE AND 35TH AVENUE.
THE STATION OPENED APRIL 27 1874. THE BRANCH WAS ABANDONED IN OCTOBER 1877.
GRINNELL STATION APPEARS IN THIS MAY 14 1877 LONG ISLAND RAIL ROAD TIMETABLE.





THIS   UNIQUE   TIMETABLE   IS   AVAILABLE   ON   EBAY



Go   to   ----->   FLUSHING  &  NORTH   SIDE   RAIL   ROAD

RETURN   TO   HOME   PAGE